Ed Sheeran Announces New Album ‘Autumn Variations’

Ed Sheeran has announced a new album, with Autumn Variations set to drop 29 September.

Ed Sheeran

Just four months since the release of – (Subtract), Sheeran has announced his first post-Mathematical series album. 

Autumn Variations has been produced by The National’s Aaron Dessner, who also helmed production with Sheeran’s previous record.

Also akin to the last LP, much of the forthcoming album was written during a difficult time for the pop star, and was inspired by the changing lives and perspectives of some of Sheeran’s friends.

Subtract review

Photo: Annie Leibovitz

In his own words, Sheeran has explained of Autumn Variations: “Last autumn, I found that my friends and I were going through so many life changes. After the heat of the summer, everything either calmed, settled, fell apart, came to a head or imploded,” says Ed Sheeran.

“When I went through a difficult time at the start of last year, writing songs helped me understand my feelings and come to terms with what was going on, and when I learned about my friend’s different situations, I wrote songs, some from their perspectives, some from mine, to capture how they and I viewed the world at that time. 

“There were highs of falling in love and new friendships among lows of heartbreak, depression, loneliness and confusion.

“My dad and brother told me about a composer called Elgar, who composed ‘Enigma Variations’, where each of the 14 compositions were about a different one of his friends. This is what inspired me to make this album.

Ed Sheeran

“When I recorded Subtract with Aaron Dessner, we clicked immediately. We wrote and recorded non-stop and this album was born out of that partnership. I feel he has captured the feeling of autumn so wonderfully in his sonics and I hope everyone loves it as much as I do.”

See the full Autumn Variations track listing and album artwork below.

Autumn Variations Ed Sheeran

  1. Magical
  2. England
  3. Amazing
  4. Plastic Bag
  5. Blue
  6. American Town
  7. That’s On Me
  8. Page
  9. Midnight
  10. Spring
  11. Punchline
  12. When Will I Be Alright
  13. The Day I Was Born
  14. Head > Heels

Leave a Reply

More like this