New Music Friday boygenius

New Music Friday | Featuring ‘Satanist’ by boygenius

This week’s new music Friday includes tunes from Tyler, The Creator, Cat Burns, Overmono and, of course, boygenius.

boygenius – Satanist

boygenius’ long-heralded debut album sees Lucy Dacus, Julien Baker and Phoebe Bridgers combine with sublime results, none more so than on ‘Satanist’. Read our full review here.

Tyler, The Creator – Sorry Not Sorry

Just when you thought Call Me If You Get Lost couldn’t get any better, Tyler had to go and add seven tracks, including Vince Staples-featuring ‘Stuntman’ and ‘Wharf Talk’ with A$AP Rocky. It’s final track ‘Sorry Not Sorry’, though, which is the standout new addition, as our review puts it.

Cat Burns – live more & love more

Cat Burns is decidedly positive on her latest track, ‘live more & love more’, which follows previous hits ‘people pleaser’ and ‘go’, as well as her recent collaboration with ArrDee, ‘Home For My Heart’.

DMA’s – De Carle

DMA’s latest album, How Many Dreams?, draws across the sonic range explored on the Aussie trio’s previous three albums. Whirring closer ‘De Carle’ is the most interesting, though, representing something yet to be fully pushed by the likeable three-piece. Read our full review here.

Lola Young – What Is It About Me

The latest single to come ahead of South London singer-songwriter Lola Young’s forthcoming album My Mind Wanders and Sometimes Leaves Completely, due 26 May, comes gut-wrenching, self-questioning ‘What Is It About Me’.

Laurence Guy (feat. KiLLOWEN) – Reflections

Producer and DJ Laurence Guy has a finely-balanced output that doesn’t shy away from the comedown after the good times. ‘Reflections’, featuring the vocals of KiLLOWEN, is an example of this, and comes ahead of Laurence Guy’s forthcoming album Living Like There’s No Tomorrow, But Killing Yourself In The Process, set for release on 7 July via his own label Accidental Pieces. Read our full interview with Guy here.

Joseph Lawrence – BeGod

Joseph Lawrence has been through enough challenges in the industry to give way to self-doubt anymore. His latest track ‘BeGod’, the latest teaser for his forthcoming album, is testament to that, both in its lyrical matter and grandeur. Read our full interview here.

ABISHA – Breathe

ABISHA dropped the sumptuous ‘Breathe’ today, a track that you can dance to as easily as you can get all in your feels for, reminiscent of Kelela.

Overmono – Good Lies

The title track from Overmono’s forthcoming debut album, out 12 May, ‘Good Lies’ is one of the more pop-leaning, sunnier singles so far released ahead of the duo’s full-length project.

Nightbus – Mirrors

Interesting new Manchester outfit Nightbus are becoming a new whynow favourite. Making music that captures the spirit of twentysomethings life, and the darkness of nightlife, ‘Mirrors’ is just their second release and has already been picking up deserved plaudits.

Leave a Reply

More like this