Sampha announces new album ‘Lahai’

Sampha has shared the details of his forthcoming sophomore album, Lahai, set for release 20 October.

Lahai review Sampha review Lahai Sampha

Titled after his paternal grandfather, which is also the singer-songwriter’s middle name, Lahai marks the follow-up to Sampha’s Mercury Prize-winning debut album Process, released in 2017.

In recent years, Sampha has often guest featured on records from a number of eminent names, including the likes of Stormzy, Travis Scott and Kendrick Lamar, bringing his impeccable, soulful vocals each time.

But across its 14 tracks, not only is Lahai set to place Sampha back in the spotlight, but also sees him utilise the talents of his other artistic collaborators, such as Yaeji, Léa Sen and Yussef Dayes.

To mark the news, Sampha has shared the album’s latest single, ‘Only’ – a glitchy hip-hop tune that follows recently released song ‘Spirit 2.0’. Have a listen via the video above.

This year has so far marked a significant one for Sampha, with the artist having returned to the stage for the first time in five years, as part of his Satellite Business residencies in London and New York.

This intimate affair sees an improvisational element and alternate arrangements of Sampha’s releases – and will be taken back onto the road this autumn, with multiple nights in London’s Hackney Church before shows across North America and then Europe. 

See the full tour dates below, as well as the Lahai artwork (shot by Durimel), and album track-listing. Lahai is available for pre-order via the artist’s website.

Sampha Lahai

Artwork: Durimel

1. Stereo Colour Cloud (shaman’s dream)
2. Spirit 2.0
3. Dancing Circles
4. Suspended
5. Satellite Business
6. Jonathan L. Seagull
7. Inclination Compass (Tenderness)
8. Only
9. Time Piece
10. Can’t Go Back
11. Evidence
12. Wave Therapy
13. What If You Hypnotise Me?
14. Rose Tint

Leave a Reply

More like this