Balancing Act announce sophomore EP ‘Tightropes And Limericks’ via new single ‘Laylow’

Manchester-formed, London-based band Balancing Act have announced a brand-new EP – and shared its smashing lead single.

Balancing Act

The forthcoming Tightropes And Limericks project represents a new era for the band, who already have a series of sold-out headline shows under their belts and have begun to craft an impressive reputation on the road.

Recorded across multiple studios – at Studio Alouette in France and Cheshire’s Big Red Studios – the creation of the EP saw the band work with both Joshua Rumble (whose credits include Black Country, New Road) and Richard Woodcraft (who’s worked with Radiohead and Liam Gallagher). 

Get a flavour of what’s in store on the new EP via its melodic, heartfelt new single ‘Laylow’, through its video below.

Discussing the new track’s origins, Balancing Act guitarist Jackson Couzens has said: “This track was written on a writing trip we did to the French Alps. 

“We were snowed into this little space and sharing rooms and sofas, we couldn’t really go anywhere, so it was perfect for writing. 

“We all found it funny that despite being surrounded by snow in below zero temperatures, the bulk of what we wrote was actually more sunny and upbeat, and this one was no exception.”

And discussing the wider Tightropes and Limericks EP, meanwhile, and what it signifies for them as an outfit, the band have added: “[This EP is] announcing the next chapter of the band, we know what Balancing Act is and where it can go, this body of work is another teaser of what that could be.

Image credit: Louis Gilbert

“We’re tighter than ever and far more sure of ourselves, we’re ready to shift up another gear.”

The new single and EP announcement arrives in the run-up to the band’s support slot for iDKHOW across Europe and the UK, which kicks-off in Amsterdam next Tuesday (25 June) and will feature shows at Bristol’s SWX, Glasgow’s SWG3 and O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire in London. 

See the full run of dates below – and visit the band’s site for more information and to buy tickets.


25 Amsterdam – Melkweg Max
26 Paris – Les Etoiles
28 Bristol – SWX
29 Manchester – O2 Ritz
30 Glasgow – SWG3


2 Birmingham – O2 Institute
3 London – O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire

  1. Pools of Colour review | Junodream dazzle in dream rock
    ★★★★★ Junodream’s debut album Pools of Colour showcases their songwriting prowess, drawing on influences from Radiohead and Slowdive to craft a unique sound that builds on their early EPs.
  2. Prelude to Ecstacy review | The Last Dinner Party show brilliant potential but are hung up on aesthetics
    ★★★★☆ The Last Dinner Party’s debut album Prelude to Ecstacy balances intricate visuals and thematic ambition with moments of raw authenticity. Despite some predictable metaphors, the band’s potential for brilliance shines through.
  3. Flying Lotus at HERE Outernet review | The masterful beatmaker hypnotises
    ★★★★☆ Flying Lotus delivered a visually stunning and sonically immersive performance at HERE Outernet. Despite some scheduling issues, the show merged boundary-defying sounds with captivating visuals, showcasing his exceptional talent.
  4. Jungle: ‘Our new album is a real escape for us – and it can be the same for everyone else’
    Jungle’s J Lloyd and Tom McFarland talk about their new album Volcano, their collaborative efforts, and the influence of their DJ sets on their music. The interview also touches on their upcoming tour and the evolution of their sound.
  5. Tom Walker: ‘I will die for these songs I’m about to put out – you’ve got to back yourself’
    Tom Walker opens up about his political song ‘Number 10’, his creative process, and the upcoming release of his second album. He shares the importance of staying true to his artistic vision and his excitement for future projects.

Keep up to date with the best in UK music by following us on Instagram: @whynowworld and on Twitter/X: @whynowworld

Leave a Reply

More like this