Gia Ford unveils debut album Transparent Things with new single ‘Paint Me Like a Woman’

Gia Ford's explosive debut album Transparent Things drops 13th September, featuring the powerful new single ‘Paint Me Like a Woman’. Don't miss her UK tour this November!

Gia Ford 2

Alternative pop visionary Gia Ford has announced her highly-anticipated debut album Transparent Things, set for release on 13th September via Chrysalis Records. The album was recorded in Los Angeles at the renowned Sound City Studios with legendary producer Tony Berg, known for his work on acclaimed albums such as Phoebe Bridgers’ Stranger in the Alps and Punisher.

Transparent Things is an immersive collection that showcases Gia’s unique ability to craft songs that resonate deeply with her audience. “Most of the characters in these songs are outcasts, all with unique ways of feeling on the periphery, somehow,” Gia explains. The album explores themes of alienation and eccentricity, creating an odyssey of outcasts.

READ MORE: Marika Hackman: ‘I was basically panic digging with this record’

The new single ‘Paint Me Like a Woman’ was released today, providing a poignant look into the mind of a woman morphing into a villain due to abuse and mistreatment. “It is a comment on how we hurt each other, how we change each other, and a question: who gets punished for this terrible nature we have all, to varying degrees, embodied?” says Gia.

Gia Ford’s first headline UK tour kicks off this November, with tickets going on sale this Friday, 14th June at 10 AM BST. Before that, Gia will perform at Soundhood Hackney this Thursday and at various UK festivals over the summer.

Gia Ford album cover

Transparent Things Track Listing:

  1. Poolside
  2. Loveshot
  3. Alligator
  4. Buzzing On You
  5. Falling In Love Again
  6. Paint Me Like a Woman
  7. Try Changing
  8. Housewife Dreams Of America
  9. Don’t Down Me Out
  10. The Porcupine
  11. Our Mutual Friend

Gia Ford Live Dates

Summer Shows:

  • 13 Jun – Soundhood Hackney, London
  • 25 July – Latitude Festival
  • 15 Aug – Green Man Festival
  • 31 Aug – Rock N Roll Circus Festival

UK Headline Tour:

  • Monday 11th Nov – The Prince Albert, Brighton
  • Thursday 14th Nov – St Matthias Church, London
  • Saturday 16th Nov – Live at Leeds Festival, Leeds
  • Sunday 17th Nov – YES (Basement), Manchester
  • Monday 18th Nov – McChuills, Glasgow
  • Tuesday 19th Nov – Sidney & Matilda, Sheffield

With her haunting vocals, extraordinary storytelling, and mesmerising stage presence, Gia Ford has garnered support from The Independent, Rolling Stone UK, DIY, NME, Clash, and more.

Keep up to date with the best in UK music by following us on Instagram: @whynowworld and on Twitter/X: @whynowworld

Leave a Reply

More like this