Potter Payper Thanks You For Waiting

East End lyricist Potter Payper released today his brand new documentary and new mixtape.

2020 vision

British lyricist Potter Payper today released his brand new documentary ‘Thanks For Waiting’ in honour of the release of the same-named new mixtape Thanks For Waiting.

Thanks For Waiting is a punch of an 18 track project that sees the East London rapper take his rightful place on the hierarchy of UK rap scene – exactly where though remains to be seen.

The documentary – a collaboration between Groundworks and 0207 Def Jam – takes viewers on the journey of creating Thanks For Waiting. Guest appearances come courtesy from the London legends of M Huncho, Unknown T and NSG.

Payper sits down to discuss in detail the creative process behind the new body of work, which included a week-long live-in creative writing camp which saw him invite artists, producers, engineers and creatives alike from across the UK scene to form what is now Thanks For Waiting, a rare way to form an album in England.

This mixtape is an invitation into the true extent of Potter’s pen. Across the tracks, he effortlessly delivers his quintessential accounts of street politics, whilst presenting a whole new side to his lyrical abilities that places him firmly amongst his peers – and pays recognition to all those who have continued to support Potter in spite of his absence over the last few years.

Much like its predecessor Training Day 3 – which debuted at #3 in the UK Album Charts – this is yet another display of Potter’s lyrical dexterity. Advancing his craft and joining forces with some of the most exciting names today, Potter has become an unstoppable force armed with one of the most important voices in UK Rap. 

The mixtape is follows a number of salient themes – the NSG-backed ‘Plain Clothes’ is an appreciation of the finer things in life, ‘Gangsteritus’ reflects on the sacrifices that have led him to this point, whilst ‘In My Sleep’ shows Potter navigating life with more introspection.

Potter said that: “The inspiration behind the tape is to elevate my sound and take it to the next level whilst still remaining true to it. The features are all natural and organic, I’m thrilled by how they have all turned out. The process of bringing it all together was intense, we had writing camps, long producer sessions and I spent a couple weeks in a residential studio ensuring we got it all right. There was a lot of trying new sounds, ensuring other peoples sounds gelled with mine and just general hard work. I wanted to dig deep within myself after Training Day 3, which went amazing, to level up and I’m back in that space again to do even better for my Album.” 

Potter Payper is no overnight success. His story thus far is one of highs, many lows and more recently, redemption. Described by many as the street’s story teller, Potter’s catalogue is home to some of the most recognised freestyles that detail vivid, eloquent narratives of his most trying experiences.

Despite Potter being away during the few defining years that UK Rap began pushing through to the mainstream, he is still hailed as one of the best lyricists in the country and recently signed to iconic British label, 0207 Def Jam. Thanks For Waiting is a further statement of his unique musical talent and adds to what has already been an impressive year, with a sold out UK tour and recently winning ‘Mixtape of The Year’ at the GRM Daily Rated Awards. With a star quality impossible to ignore, Potter is back and here to stay.

 The Thanks For Waiting tracklist is as follows:

  1. Intro
  2. Eastender ft. Unknown T
  3. Rappers Lie ft. KO
  4. CEO Flow ft. Rimzee
  5. For The Block
  6. Take That ft. Digga D
  7. Johnny On The Spot
  8. Nothing’s Free ft. Suspect
  9. Take A Seat ft. Billy Billions & Im CP
  10. Catch Up ft.  M Huncho
  11. Plain Clothes ft. NSG
  12. I Just Need
  13. In My Sleep
  14. Foreva ft Smurke
  15. Never ft Haile
  16. 10:30am
  17. Gangsteritus ft. Tiggs Da Author
  18. Outro

Leave a Reply

More like this