Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2023 inductees announced

This year’s Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees have been announced, with Kate Bush, George Michael, Willy Nelson and Missy Elliot among the artists to be inducted at this year’s ceremony.

rock and roll hall of fame 2023

Sheryl Crow, Rage Against the Machine and The Spinners (or The Detroit Spinners) are the other performers who will join the esteemed members club, located in Cleveland, Ohio.

The ceremony will take place at Brooklyn’s Barclays Center in November this year. 

rock and roll hall of fame 2023 missy elliot

Missy Elliot poses with her awards during the 44th Annual Grammy Awards on 27 February, 2002 in Los Angeles, CA. Elliot won Best Rap Solo Performance for “Get Ur Freak On” and Best Pop Collaboration With Vocals for “Lady Marmalade.” (Photo by Vince Bucci/Getty Images)

In the Musical Influence Award category, DJ Kool Herc and Link Wray will be inducted. For Music Excellence, Chaka Khan, Al Kooper and Bernie Taupin have been acknowledged, while Don Cornelius has been recognised with the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

Songwriter Taupin joins his longtime collaborator Elton John, who was inducted in 1994, while rap innovator DJ Kool Herc is honoured on the 50th anniversary of hip-hop. 

Artists are eligible to enter the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 25 years after their first single. 

Missy Elliot is inducted in her first year of eligibility, while Bush has already been nominated on three separate occasions – 2018, 2021 and 2022.

Kate Bush

Kate Bush

Bush’s music has seen a revival in popularity after her song ‘Running Up That Hill’ featured in the hit Netflix show Stranger Things. The song topped the UK charts nearly four decades after its initial release. 

If Bush travels to, and performs in, New York come November, it would be her first public appearance since 2014. She has not released any new music since 2011. While most artists chosen do perform at the ceremony, some have declined.

rock and roll hall of fame 2023 jay z

Jay Z speaks onstage during the 36th Annual Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony at Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse on October 30, 2021. (Photo by Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty Images for The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame )

Joy Division and New Order, A Tribe Called Quest, Duran Duran, the White Stripes and Cyndi Lauper are among the nominees who didn’t make this year’s class of inductees.

George Michael won the fan vote, which was tallied alongside official voting ballots to determine inductees. Michael received 1.04 million votes, narrowly edging out Lauper’s 928,000. His induction comes on the 40th anniversary of Wham’s debut album, Fantastic.


Chaka Khan’s award for Musical Excellence goes to artists “whose originality and influence creating music have had a dramatic impact on music”.

Willie Nelson is inducted after a career spanning seven decades, in the year of his 90th birthday.

Leave a Reply

More like this