Miles Kane shares first single ahead of new album ‘One Man Band’

Miles Kane has announced a brand-new album, One Man Band, and shared its first single, ‘Troubled Son’.

Miles Kane new album

One Man Band is set to arrive on 4 August and is the follow-up to Change the Show, released at the beginning of last year.

As a first teaser for what’s in store for the forthcoming record, today Kane has shared ‘Troubled Son’, which arrives with a one-shot music video that features a cameo from actor James Buckley.

Watch the ‘Troubled Son’ video below.

For all its peppy, indie qualities, it’s a track that reflects on the fact that life isn’t always as rosy as we might let on.

Speaking of the new track, Kane has described it as being “about the struggle we all have in life.”

“Sometimes we have our shit together and sometimes we don’t,” he added. “This is me acknowledging my faults and my fears and showing the journey I’m taking as I try to figure it all out.”

For One Man Band, Kane returned to his hometown, recording the album at Liverpool’s Kempston Street Studios, where he worked with longtime collaborator James Skelly of The Coral, who was on production duties.

Miles Kane

Blossoms’ Tom Ogden, Keiran Shudall of Circa Waves, Andy Burrow and regular writing partner Jamie Biles also helped Kane piece the album together. 

Kane has shared that the resultant album is one that draws on his previous influences to try and explore something new, adding: “Sometimes you have to go backwards to go forwards, and this album helped me rediscover why I picked up a guitar in the first place. 

“This album is like a brand new, yet somehow familiar leather jacket. A comforting melting pot of all the music that has inspired and continues to inspire me every day.”

Precisely what that sounds like, will be available to hear on 4 August. Until then, here’s the album’s album cover and full tracklisting below.

Miles Kane One Man Band

One Man Band Tracklisting:

  1. Troubled Son
  2. The Best Is Yet To Come
  3. One Man Band
  4. Never Taking Me Alive
  5. Heartbreaks The New Sensation
  6. The Wonder
  7. Baggio
  8. Ransom
  9. Doubles
  10. Heal
  11. Scared Of Love

Leave a Reply

More like this