Björk, Avelino and RAYE among 2023 AIM Award winners

Avelino was the biggest winner at the 2023 AIM Independent Music Awards last night, with Björk and Wet Leg also taking home silverware. 


The ceremony took place at London’s Roundhouse on Tuesday (26 September). 

Other big name winners included the Ezra Collection and RAYE. Ezra Collective were recognised for Best Creative Campaign, while RAYE was awarded the prize for Best Independent Track for ‘Escapism’.

Shygirl was named UK Independent Breakthrough.



Attendees were also treated to Björk’s first in-person awards show appearance since 2012.

Live performances came from the likes of P Money, producer Laughta, and Avelino himself, who took home the award for Best Independent Album in association with Spotify for his long-awaited debut album, God Save the Streets.

Avelino’s performance was part of the AIM’s celebration of 50 years of hip-hop.Speaking after receiving his award, he said: “This is far deeper than thousands of sales, it’s about thousands of lives at stake on the streets of London and up and down the UK… To all the children in the trenches and to all my brothers and sisters out there trying to get through this madness, I hope you realise that rock bottom is only the stepping stone onto bigger and better things. God bless everyone and God save the streets.” 

Ezra Collective

Ezra Collective are coming off the back of their Mercury Prize success.

AIM CEO Silvia Montello said: “The AIM Awards are always about more than celebrating the nominees, winners and attendees in the room. AIM celebrates the legends, visionaries, innovators, and all the creative talent who continue to keep our UK’s vibrant independent music community the envy of the world.”

You can find the full list of winners below.

Best Independent Album in association with Spotify

Avelino – God Save The Streets (More Music Records/ OddChild Music) – WINNER

Kelela – Raven (Warp Records)

Little Simz – No Thank You (Forever Living Originals)

Nova Twins – Supernova (Marshall Records)

Obongjayar – Some Nights I Dream of Doors (September Recordings)

Oliver Sim – Hideous Bastard (Young)

RAYE – My 21st Century Blues (Human Re Sources)

Rina Sawayama – Hold The Girl (Dirty Hit)

Shygirl – Nymph (Because Music)

Wu-Lu – LOGGERHEAD (Warp Records)

Best Independent Track in association with Meta

RAYE, 070 Shake – “Escapism” (Human Re Sources) – WINNER

Connie Constance – “Hurt You” (Play It Again Sam)

ENNY – “Charge It” (FAMM)

Four Tet – “Three Drums” (Text Records)

Makaya McCraven – “Dream Another” (XL Recordings)

Overmono – “Good Lies” (XL Recordings)

Shygirl – “Shlut” (Because Music)

Sudan Archives – “Selfish Soul” (Stones Throw Records)

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – “Spitting Off The Edge of The World” feat Perfume Genius (Secretly Canadian)

Yves Tumor – “Echolalia” (Warp Records)

UK Independent Breakthrough

Shygirl (Because Music) – WINNER

Ezra Collective (Partisan Records)

I.Jordan (Ninja Tune)

Overmono (XL Recordings)

Suki Waterhouse (Sub Pop)

Best Live Performer

Björk: (One Little Independent) – WINNER

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist

Wet Leg (Domino Records) – WINNER

AntsLive (Payday Records, Trademark Records)

John Summit (Off The Grid Records)

Surya Sen (Skint Records)

Vibe Chemistry (DnB Allstars Records)

Best Independent EP/ Mixtape in association with BBC 1Xtra


Bellah – Adultsville (Base ‘N’ Rebulz X Marathon Music Group)

ENNY – We Go Again (FAMM) – WINNER

Jessica Winter – Limerance (Lucky Number)

Saint Joshua – EP2 (Ditto Music)

yunè pinku – BABYLON IX (PLATOON)

One To Watch in association with BBC Music Introducing

Jessica Winter (Lucky Number)

Juice Menace (Supernature)


Master Peace (PMR)

Best Creative Campaign in association with Able

Partisan Records (Ezra Collective – Where I’m Meant To Be) – WINNER

Because Music (Shygirl – Nymph)

Dirty Hit (Rina Sawayama – Hold The Girl)

Human Re Sources (RAYE – My 21st Century Blues)

Ninja Tune (Young Fathers – Heavy Heavy)

XL Recordings (Yaeji – With A Hammer)

Best Independent Remix

Nu:Tone Remix (Hospital Records) – GLXY – “Butterfly Effect (feat. Hugh Hardie & Visionobi)” – WINNER

Sega Bodega Remix (One Little Independent) – Björk – “Ovuke (feat. Shygirl)”

Soulwax Remix (Deewee / Because Music) – Charlotte Adigéry & Bolis Pupul – “Cliche”

Jamie XX remix (Young) – Oliver Sim – “GMT”

Boys Noize (Secretly Canadian) – Yeah Yeah Yeahs – “Wolf”

Best Independent Video in association with VevoEzra Collective


“No Confusion ft. Kojey Radical” (Partisan Records)

Kelela – “Enough For Love” (Warp Records)

Obongjayar – “I Wish It Was Me (Live)” (September Recordings)

RAYE, 070 Shake – “Escapism.” (Human Re Sources)

Outstanding Contribution to Music in association with Merlin

Stephen & David Dewaele – Soulwax / 2manydjs – WINNER (Because Music / [PIAS])

Best Independent Label

Hospital Records – WINNER

Defected Records

Forever Living Originals

One Little Independent


Best Boutique Label

Rough Bones – WINNER

Chess Club

Glasgow Underground


So Young Records

Music Entrepreneur of the Year

Caius Pawson – Young / Space – WINNER

Alex Brees – Un:hurd

Jess Kangalee – Good Energy PR

Keturah Cummings – Forward Slash

Yasin El Ashrafi – HQ Familia

Independent Champion in association with Downtown

Resident Music – WINNER

Jaguar Bingham

Cafe OTO

Innovator Award in association with Amazon Music

Dan Carey – WINNER

Diversity Champion

Charisse Beaumont – Black Lives in Music – WINNER

Want to write about music? Pitch us your ideas.

Are you passionate about music and have a story or hot take to share? whynow wants to hear from you. Send your music-focused pitch to Let’s make some noise together.

Leave a Reply

More like this