New Music Friday | Featuring ‘More M’s’ by Drake & 21 Savage

Another Friday, another week of top some great new tunes. Here’s our very best picks of the week, including Drake and 21 Savage, Louis Culture and Sigrid. 

Drake and 21 Savage

Drake & 21 Savage – More M’s

A standout track off of their new project, Her Loss, ‘More M’s’ sees Drake and 21 Savage take a verse each behind a booming, bass-heavy Metro Boomin instrumental. In a rare moment on the album, 21 bares the brunt of the responsibility on this track too as he delivers a menacing chorus, before Drake provides a braggadocious, punchy verse to close out another trap banger from the duo.

JID – 2007

JID finally releases 2007, the intended closing track to his incredible third studio album, The Forever Story. JID delivers a masterclass in hip-hop storytelling, using the release of both J Cole and his own albums to timeline the events of his life. From getting a scholarship to college to play football, to getting kicked out for stealing and finding out his grandma has cancer, to deciding to pursue a rap career before his dad kicks him out the house, we get in intricate detail the trials and tribulations JID has had to face to get to this point. The song features narration from J Cole, Ibrahim Hamad (Dreamville’s president) and JID’s father, and is a necessary listen to “understand the full story” of The (exceptional) Forever Story.

Louis Culture – Grime

South Londoner Louis Culture released a brand-new track this week, with a spacious Karma Kid-produced beat. Don’t be mistaken for the track’s title, ‘Grime’, with the suave house-inspired sound. It might have been dropped on a Thursday, but it’s giving real feelgood Friday vibes. It also arrives with a cracking video.  

Kwaku Asante – Scared 

Currently on tour with Pip Millett, Kwaku Asante drops his debut EP Wanderlust today, described as a collection of songs “in which I am wrong for the person or it is wrong for me,” the artist has said. That may be, but Asante certainly isn’t in the wrong with this latest release, which also comes ahead of his Village Underground show on 28 November.  

Connie Constance – Never Get To Love You 

There’s a real blend of the ethereal and a raucousness on Connie Constance’s latest record, Miss Power, out today. ‘Never Get To Love You’ embodies both these elements. The album is an intimate dissection of the Watford born singer-songwriter’s – touching on themes of her strained relationship with her father and her struggles with mental health.

Kaiser Chiefs – How 2 Dance 

Kaiser Chiefs are back. And they’re clearly having a bit of fun with it. The album artwork might be of a room akin to a bingo hall (albeit an aesthetically pleasing one), but this track is a real dance-inducing number – which I guess is obvious given the track title. And far from a bingo hall, the lads from Leeds will be playing O2 Arena this weekend.  

Boldy James – Disco Fever

Boldy links up with legendary Toronto producer Futurewave for his third collaborative project of the year. Disco Fever sees Boldy is typical top form as he describes his moves in the street as dancing, behind grimy bass hits coupled with menacing piano keys. Whilst the soulful elements are still present, Mr. Ten08 has much more jazz and drums to it than Boldy’s previous release Fair Exchange No Robbery; lyrically, it’s Boldy James, you can’t go wrong. 


The first single for BROCKHAMPTON’S upcoming album, The Family, ‘Big Pussy’ sees Kevin Abstract take lead as the sole vocalist on the track. Whilst bearface is still on production, the lone presence of Abstract speaks volumes about the state the band are in. In January this year they abruptly announced they were splitting up, cancelling the remainder of their tour, only to announce their final album at Coachella, something touched upon in this track, as Abstract makes it abundantly clear that the upcoming album has only come to fruition under the demands of the label. As this is the case, enjoy these releases whilst you can. 

Joji – Die For You

Joji continues his Lo-Fi inspired style that saw him achieve so much success with the release of ‘Glimpse of Us’ earlier this year as the lead single to Smithereens. ‘Die For You’ sees Joji processing a breakup through ambient verses behind a slow piano track, before building up into a grandiose chorus in which he makes it heart-wrenchingly clear to his former partner that he would still give everything to her.

Sigrid – Everybody Says They’re Fine

Ahead of her biggest UK and Ireland tour to date, headlining SSE Wembley Arena on 12 November, 25-year-old Norwegian pop star Sigrid releases ‘Everybody Says They’re Fine’.

Leave a Reply

More like this