Wunderhorse frontman Jacob Slater announces debut solo record, Pinky, I Love You

Jacob Slater, the frontman of Wunderhorse, has announced his debut solo album, Pink, I Love You, set for release on 4 August.


To welcome the announcement, Slater has released gentle acoustic tune ‘Kissin’ Booth’, which despite its soft sound is a track about betrayal and deceit.

Have a listen to ‘Kissin’ Booth’ below which arrives with a nostalgic-looking video shot by Gabe Drechsler.

Interestingly, the forthcoming album was recorded at West Hampstead’s Rockfield and Hoxa Studios alongside the recording of Wunderhorse’s terrific album Cubone of our favourite albums from last year, which came out some eight months ago now.

Explaining the decision, Slater has said simply:Pinky, I Love You is a collection of songs that come from the same period as Cub. They didn’t make sense with a band so I recorded them on my own”.

The impressive allure of Cub and the live showmanship of Slater, flanked now by Jamie Staples, Harry Fowler and Pete Woodin to make up the four-piece, meant 2022 was a breakout year for the band.

They’ve already supported the likes of Sam Fender, Pixies, Fontaines D.C. and Foals in the past year, all of which puts the band in good stead for their biggest headline show to date when they play O2 Forum Kentish Town on 1 November.

That show will of course now arrive a few months after the release of Pinky, I Love You – the full tracklist and album cover for which you can see below.

Pinky, I Love You

  1. One for the Pigeons
  2. I Do
  3. Dead Submarines
  4. Kissin’ Booth
  5. Blue Lullabies
  6. Untitled
  7. Red Balloon
  8. Moon River

Leave a Reply

More like this