MGMT announce new album ‘Loss Of Life’ and share single ‘Mother Nature’

MGMT, the duo composed of Andrew VanWyngarden and Benjamin Goldwasser, have unveiled details of their forthcoming fifth studio album, Loss Of Life.

MGMT Loss of Life album cover

The follow-up to 2018’s Little Dark Age is scheduled for release on 23rd February, 2024, through Mom + Pop. You can pre-order/pre-save it here.

Accompanying the announcement is the release of MGMT’s new single ‘Mother Nature’, a track steeped in nostalgia with its guitar-driven sound. An animated music video, directed by Jordan Fish, accompanies the release, depicting a friendship between a dog and turtle as they combat an antagonistic pet collector. You can listen to it below:

The band shared insights into the single, saying it “outlines the archetypical MGMT mythology of one hero attempting to get the other hero to come on the journey that they ‘must’ go on”. They added that one section of ‘Mother Nature’ has an Oasis-like sound.

READ MORE: ★★★★☆ The Silver Cord review | King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard ditch guitars for a cosmic robo-rave

Jordan Fish, a collaborator since MGMT’s debut Oracular Spectacular, expressed his hope that the video “makes people happy and feel connected to family, friends and the animal kingdom”.

The forthcoming album Loss Of Life will feature tracks such as ‘Dancing In Babylon’, a collaboration with Christine And The Queens, ‘People In The Streets’, ‘Bubblegum Dog’, and ‘I Wish I Was Joking’.

MGMT Loss of Life album cover

The album cover for Loss of Life

MGMT, now signed to the independent label Mom + Pop, expressed pride in their new work on social media: “All joking aside (never!), we are very proud of this album… and are happy to be releasing this baby into the world with Mom + Pop.”

The band described their musical direction for the album as “running at around 20 per cent adult contemporary and no more than this, please.”

The album was produced with Patrick Wimberly and saw continued collaboration with Dave Fridmann, who has mixed all of the duo’s previous albums.

The full tracklist for Loss Of Life is…

  1. ‘Loss Of Life (part 2)’
  2. ‘Mother Nature’
  3. ‘Dancing In Babylon’ (featuring Christine and the Queens)
  4. ‘People In The Streets’
  5. ‘Bubblegum Dog’
  6. ‘Nothing To Declare’
  7. ‘Nothing Changes’
  8. ‘Phradie’s Song’
  9. ‘I Wish I Was Joking’
  10. ‘Loss Of Life’

Want to write about music? Pitch us your ideas.

Are you passionate about music and have a story or hot take to share? whynow wants to hear from you. Send your music-focused pitch to Let’s make some noise together.

Leave a Reply

More like this