James Blake announces new album ‘Playing Robots Into Heaven’

James Blake has announced his sixth studio album, Playing Robots Into Heaven, which arrives 8 September.

James Blake

The Mercury Music Prize and GRAMMY Award-winning artist James Blake has marked the news by releasing the album’s intricate lead single, ‘Big Hammer’.

Have a watch of the track’s trippy bank heist video, directed by Radiohead and Bonobo collaborator Oscar Hudson.

Playing Robots Into Heaven is the follow-up to Blake’s acclaimed 2021 album, Friends That Break Your Heart, which marked the DJ and producer’s highest chart finish to date by peaking at fourth.

The new album has been billed as a return from Blake to the electronic roots of his Hessle, Hemlock and R&S records days.

Playing Robots Into Heaven

Playing Robots Into Heaven album artwork

In addition to the new single, James has announced that he’ll be heading out on a headline international tour, which will include dates in the UK, Europe and North America.

Commencing at the Fabrique in Milan on 18 September, the shows will also include a night at London’s storied Alexandra Palace show on 28 September. See below for full list of dates.

18 Sep – Milan, Italy – Fabrique 

21 Sep – Brussels, Belgium – Forest National Club 

22 Sep – Paris, France – L’Olympia 

24 Sep – Berlin, Germany – UFO im Velodrom 

26 Sep – Tilburg, Netherlands – O13 

28 Sep – London, UK – Alexandra Palace 

3 Oct – Atlanta, GA , U.S. – Coca Cola Roxy 

5 Oct – Queens, NY, U.S. – Knockdown Center 

9 Oct – Boston, MA, U.S – MGM Music Hall at Fenway 

10 Oct – Montreal, QC, – Canada L’Olympia 

12 Oct – Toronto, ON, – Canada Rebel 

14 Oct – Chicago, IL, U.S. – Aragon Ballroom 

16 Oct – San Francisco, CA, U.S. – The Masonic Theater 

19 Oct – Los Angeles, CA, U.S. – Hollywood Forever Cemetery

Fans who pre-order the album from James Blake’s official site by 6pm on Monday 3 July will get access to exclusive ticket pre-sale for his Alexandra Palace show on 4 July,  ahead of general sale on 7 July.

Leave a Reply

More like this